Select Page

Better Hurry!

The final day for voting for your favorite new band or best CD of the last year is August 31.

The Blues Blast Music Awards is sponsored by Blues Blast Magazine and Blues Music Magazine (the new Living Blues magazine) and the bands nominated are top notch.

Blues Blast Music Awards

Blues Blast Music Awards

Here’s the voting categories and nominees.

Traditional Blues Album

  • 4 Jacks – Deal With It
  • Ian Siegal & The Mississippi Mudbloods – Candy Store Kid
  • Michael Burks – Show Of Strength
  • Shaun Murphy – Ask For The Moon
  • Rick Estrin & The Nightcats – One Wrong Turn
  • Robert Cray – Nothin’ But Love

Contemporary Blues Album

  • Eddie Shaw & The 757 Allstars – Still Riding High
  • The Cash Box Kings- Black Toppin’
  • The Kid Ramos & Bob Corritore – The Phoenix Sessions
  • The Mannish Boys – Double Dynamite
  • Doug MacLeod – There’s A Time
  • Little Joe McLerran – Facebook Blues

Blues Rock Album

  • Albert Castiglia – Living The Dream
  • Tinsley Ellis – Get It!
  • Walter Trout – Blues For Modern Daze
  • Royal Southern Brotherhood – Royal Southern Brotherhood
  • Jason Elmore And Hoodoo Witch – Tell You What
  • Simon McBride – Crossing The Line

Soul Blues Album

  • Barbara Carr – Keep The Fire Burning
  • Curtis Salgado – Soul Shot
  • John Németh – Soul Live
  • Johnny Rawls – Soul Survivor
  • Mighty Sam McClain – Too Much Jesus (Not Enough Whiskey)
  • Theodis Ealey – You And I Together

Song Of The Year

  • “A Woman or The Blues” – Curtis Salgado and Dave Duncan
  • “I Got a Right to Sing the Blues” – Cee Cee James and Rob “Slideboy” Andrews
  • “Black Nights” – Doug MacLeod
  • “Analyze’N Blues” – Peter Karp and Sue Foley
  • “Too Much Jesus (Not Enough Whiskey)” – Sam McClain & Pat Herlehy
  • “Dreamin’ or Dyin’” – Sena Ehrhardt and Ed Ehrhardt

New Artist Debut Release

  • Southern Hospitality – Easy Livin’
  • Andy T & Nick Nixon Band – Drink Drank Drunk
  • Paula Harris – Turning On The Naughty
  • Frank Bey With The Anthony Paule Band – You Don’t Know Nothing
  • James ‘Buddy’ Rogers – My Guitar Is My Only Friend
  • Mike Wheeler – Self Made Man
  • Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls

Female Blues Artist

  • Deanna Bogart
  • Shaun Murphy
  • Janiva Magness
  • Shemekia Copeland
  • Teeny Tucker
  • Teresa James

Male Blues Artist

  • Curtis Salgado
  • Doug MacLeod
  • John Németh
  • Lucky Peterson
  • Mud Morganfield
  • Rick Estrin

Blues Band Of The Year

  • The Cash Box Kings
  • Rick Estrin & The Nightcats
  • Southern Hospitality
  • Lil’ Ed & The Blues Imperials
  • The Mannish Boys
  • Tedeschi Trucks Band

Sean Costello Rising Star Award

  • Andy Poxon
  • Brandon Santini
  • Doug Deming
  • Kevin Selfe
  • Mike Wheeler
  • Paula Harris
  • Victor Wainwright
  • Sena Ehrhardt

And as you can see the Tampa Bay area is well represented with two of our own nominated… including Doug Deming and The Jewel Tones, and Southern Hospitality (OK only Damon Fowler is from around here, but we saw them first)

So go here to cast your votes. And do it quickly… you’ve only got until tomorrow to do it.


Click To Watch A Free Lesson